Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
howmuchispressurewashing.over-blog.com

Should You Jet Wash Your Bike?

 

The jetwash an outstanding as well as quick means to obtain things clean stuff that includes your bike concern is though should you in fact jet laundry it well we're going to learn ready people that state do not jet clean your bike will certainly inform you that fast blast from a high-pressure pipe will entirely wreck your bearings the theory goes that water will obtain required previous or delicate bearing seals and also onto the bearings themselves possibly also taking grit and dirt with it that if true would certainly then spoil all of your bearings on your bike your jockey wheels your freewheel your rear wheel bearings your front wheel bearings your base brace bearings your headset bearings and also your pedal bags so potentially then quite a costly error but does it see I do not think that any person in fact understands professional technicians make use of jet washing machines each day then they also change components a lot more often and also as a football cross motorcyclist I understand the worth of a cheeky little jet wash it's literally the distinction between winning a race and also standing on the sidelines with 2 busted bikes plainly then we require to find out if jet washing ruins your bike you'll forgive me though if I'm really feeling a little squeamish about jet enjoying this to see whether we can damage it so instead we have actually appointed this factor what is it's a bottom brace stand clearly customized made by master craftsmen Tom strong if you what mosting likely to do is attach this a much-loved as well as well used crank set to it and also see how long it's mosting likely to take to jet wash it and also yet it has done some miles but I have actually actually just repacked the bearings with fresh grease then after a quick jet wash I'm mosting likely to dismantle it once again check for water ingress and see whether our grease is still in place depending on the results we can after that rebuild it as well as jet clean it some even more how long is it going to require to blast our bottom bracket 5 seconds not going to like rather ecstatic tell us to go out yet I have actually obtained some dampness on the outside I'm gon na need to knock that off external seal yep there's absolutely nothing in there is it oil completely in position no indication of water five secs of jet cleaning survived phase one total refill done twenty seconds now we acting we're actually acting now come on oh there's little bit a lot more moisture this moment it's completely dry oil still in position not a trace of dampness that was a quite major jet cleaning that so that's where stood 25 seconds now right one minute starting from I'm going to really act this time around I really wish to clean this rotating a little moist one min as well as 25 seconds jet cleaning what do you think well dry oil or no breeze oh my days yeah yeah still oil no water I'm going to get one seal one sealing alright there's literally not a traitor than any type of water in there allow's take it as much as 11 or two mins 2 mins of jet washing heck are you obtain so I assume I've spotted a point on the crank which is directing water directly into the bottom brace so I'm mosting likely to pull off there as long as I can if anybody ever before did this to their bike to try and clean it I 'd be examining their peace of mind two mins yep well I do not find out about the lower brace yet I splashed that time there's water ingress two 3 minutes and 25 secs and we have some water access inside the first seal so allow's see how our bearings looking inside tamati that's not looking too bad is it it's barely like the oil has actually been jet rinsed of it but we are beginning to get a little coming in there 3 mins 25 secs so what does this all indicate then well I'm mosting likely to leave you to attract your own conclusions really since I know that for some of you that live as well as ride in really completely dry areas yet really the concept of also getting your bike wet is entirely alien to you therefore this I assume was most likely actually quite frightening for those people in pleasant environments though most likely does not appear so negative and for me personally it in fact does not truly alter anything due to the fact that I was constantly fairly delighted with the concept of occasionally jet washing truly unclean bike constantly attempting to steer clear of fragile bearings although I intend it does give me a little bit extra self-confidence than really what I'm doing isn't too bad although let's bear in mind that this is just a bottom brace bearing and really your headset is most likely a little much more fragile and I have actually got no suggestion regarding your jockey wheels with any luck they what it will do is if you're one of those people that assumes that you can not jet clean your bike it may give you stop for thought clearly it hasn't simply degenerated in front of our very eyes hopefully they won't you better think you will then obtain associated with the comment area down listed below need to you jet wash your bike tidy things on that one anyway before you do head down there please make certain you subscribe it's very easy just click on the globe and afterwards it's done and afterwards if you desire some more material plainly it's mosting likely to be byte cleaning web content up there is how you can clean up a gross bike without a jet clean and down there is exactly how a professional technician cleanses a bike with a jet clean.

Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post